select Language Deutsch English

CIRCUS MOTHER AFRICA presents:

„New Stories from Khayelitsha 2020“

The Show „Khayelitsha“ by Winston Ruddle and Hubert Schober (who created among others the legendary show „Afrika! Afrika!“) has already fascinated more than 300.000 people from London to Paris and from Helsinki to New York since 2014. From December 2019 till February 2020 this most successful production of CIRCUS MOTHER AFRICA will return to Germany, Austria and Switzerland during its European Tour. With new spectacular showacts, powerful music and passionate dances exclusively African artists will guarantee 100% love of life.

Powerful, passionate and full of love for life

Powerful, passionate and full of love for life the African the exceptionally talented artists of  MOTHER AFRICA take their audience into one of the biggest townships in South Africa: Khayelitsha. In the middle of the extraordinary stage setting of shanties and cardboard stands, between street vendors and jugglers the „New Stories from Khayelitsha 2020“ present an – admittedly very exceptional – day in the township. Young men are competing with breathtaking acrobatics for the favour of women, whereas women themselves demonstrate their skills to the men. This means singing, dancing and laughing together to the uplifting music of the MOTHER AFRICA Band but also reflecting South-African history.

 „During the Sixties of the past century the townships were the result of an inhuman policy of racism“, says Winston Ruddle, born in Zimbabwe. „Nowadays they are a symbol for our awareness of Africa. In many brains the opinion out of the times of colonialism in this continent will still survive. “Of course, there are terrible wars and conflicts in some parts of Africa, areas of great poverty, concern and depression – but there are also places of pure love for life and they dominate the heart of the Show Khayelitsha“.

The „NEW STORIES FROM KHAYELITSHA 2020“ highlight the life, joy and the many talents of this cultural melting pot. The common pictures of Africa will be presented with “a tongue in cheek” or caricatured with jauntiness.

MOTHER AFRICA – More than just a circus show

Being the only African Circus production, the project has been offering artists of the “Dark Continent” continuously and sustainably the possibility to act on international stages for more than 15 years. Up to now this production has opened the gates to a worldwide career for more than one hundred talents – and fascinated more than over 1,5 million people all over the world. The spectacular themed shows of MOTHER AFRICA provide a journey through the continent showing not only marvellous entertainment, rhythm and superior artistic performances but also Africa’s cultural variety and feeling for life – so that it can be experienced by the audience.

„A continental feast for the eyes and the ears“

The New York Times, USA

„Think Cirque Du Soleil with an abundant African flavour“

Australian Stage, Australia

„It’s the Lion king on steroids“

Dominion Post, New Zealand

„A sunshine safari for the mind!“

Grimsby Telegraph, UK

„Ambassadors of a new Africa. A perfect mix of music, dance and high class acrobatics – and always with a smile!”“

El Pais, Spain

„Enough energy to light Manhattan“

The Huffington Post, USA

„Joyful and dazzling - Mother Africa is out of this world.“

THE STAGE, London

ma_home1
ma_home2
ma_home3
ma_home4
ma_home5
ma_home6

select Language Deutsch English

CIRCUS MOTHER AFRICA präsentiert:

„New Stories from Khayelitsha 2020"

Die Show „Khayelitsha“ von Winston Ruddle und Hubert Schober (u.a. „Afrika! Afrika!“) hat seit 2014 bereits über 300.000 Menschen von London bis Paris, von Helsinki bis New York begeistert. Von Dezember 2019 bis Februar 2020 ist die erfolgreichste Produktion des CIRCUS MOTHER AFRICA auf ihrer Europa-Tournee auch in Deutschland, Österreich und der Schweiz zu Gast. Mit neuen, spektakulären Showacts, kraftvoller Musik und leidenschaftlichen Tänzen sorgen die ausschließlich afrikanischen Künstler für 100% Lebensfreude.

Kraftvoll, leidenschaftlich und voller Lebensfreude

Kraftvoll, leidenschaftlich und voller Lebensfreude (ent-)führen die afrikanischen Ausnahmetalente von MOTHER AFRICA ihre Zuschauer in eines der größten Townships in Südafrika: Khayelitsha. In der außergewöhnlichen Bühnenkulisse aus Wellblechhütten und Papp-Ständen, zwischen Straßenverkäufern und Gauklern zeigen die „New Stories from Khayelitsha 2020“ einen – zugegeben sehr außergewöhnlichen – Tag im Township. Junge Männer buhlen mit atemberaubender Akrobatik um die Gunst der Frauen, während die Frauen ihrerseits den Männern zeigen, was in ihnen steckt. Zu den Rhythmen der MOTHER AFRICA Band wird gemeinsam gesungen, getanzt, gelacht und auch der südafrikanischen Geschichte gedacht.

 „In den 60er Jahren des vergangenen Jahrhunderts waren die Townships das Resultat einer unmenschlichen Rassenpolitik“, erklärt der in Simbabwe geborene Winston Ruddle. „Heute sind sie ein symbolisches Bild für unsere Wahrnehmung von Afrika. In vielen Köpfen halten sich hartnäckig die Klischees von diesem Kontinent aus Zeiten des Kolonialismus. Natürlich gibt es in Teilen Afrikas schreckliche Kriege und Konflikte, Hochburgen der Armut, Orte voller Sorge und Depression – aber ebenso gibt es Festplätze purer Lebensfreude. Letztere bestimmen den Herzschlag der Show Khayelitsha“.

Die „NEW STORIES FROM KHAYELITSHA 2020“ zeigen pointiert das Leben, die Lebensfreude und die vielen Talente dieses kulturellen Schmelztiegels. Dabei werden die gängigen Afrika-Bilder mal augenzwinkernd auf den Kopf gestellt oder mit spielerischer Leichtigkeit karikiert.

MOTHER AFRICA – Mehr als nur Zirkusshow

MOTHER AFRICA ist dabei mehr als „nur“ Zirkusshow. Als einzige afrikanische Zirkusproduktion bietet das Projekt seit über 15 Jahren Künstlern des „schwarzen Kontinents“ durchgängig und nachhaltig die Möglichkeit, sich auf internationaler Ebene zu präsentieren. Weit über einhundert Talenten hat die Produktion bislang die Tore für eine weltweite Karriere geöffnet – und weltweit über 1,5 Millionen Menschen begeistert. Die spektakulären Themenshows von MOTHER AFRICA sind wie eine Reise durch den Kontinent, auf der sich alles um großartige Unterhaltung, Rhythmus und artistische Höchstleistungen dreht – aber auch darum, die kulturelle Vielfalt Afrikas zu zeigen und den Besuchern ein Stück afrikanisches Lebensgefühl näher zu bringen.

„...ein fulminantes Fest für Augen und Ohren“

New York Times, USA

„Genug Energie, um Manhattan zu erhellen...“

The Huffington Post, USA

„Umwerfend und voller Freude – Mother Africa ist überirdisch.“

THE STAGE, London

„Spektakuläre Akrobatik, mitreißend choreografierte Tanzszenen und eine erstklassige Band – die Artisten auf Weltklasse-Niveau scheinen immer noch eins draufsetzen zu können.“

Kieler Nachrichten

„Man wagt als Zuschauer nicht einen Moment wegzuschauen, um ja nichts zu verpassen.“

Die Rheinpfalz

ma_home1
ma_home2
ma_home3
ma_home4
ma_home5
ma_home6